Manja slova Veća slova RSS

Ask The Ministry


Press realise: XII annual meeting of Transport Ministers SEETO held in Brussels

Press realise: XII annual meeting of Transport Ministers SEETO held in Brussels
Published date: 13.12.2016 09:59 | Author: Ministarstvo saobraćaja i pomorstva

Ispis Print

Minister of Transport and Maritime Affairs Osman Nurković and his associates, at the invitation of the European Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc, participated in the Twelfth Annual Meeting of the Ministers of Transport, which was held as part of the Memorandum for the development of the core regional transport network in Southeast Europe.

The focus of the "Twelfth Annual Meeting of Transport Ministers on the Development of the Indicative Extension of Comprehensive and Core Network to the Western Balkans" was aimed at finding ways of cooperation in order to improve road traffic safety, which is an issue of key importance to the region of the Western Balkans and the EU, but also one of the reforms in the process of integration of the Western Balkans, whose implementation has been agreed in the framework of the Berlin process and Connectivity Agenda of the Western Balkan Six (WB6) for 2015. 

Minister Nurković stressed the importance of the regional infrastructure connectivity. "Our goal is to better connect the Western Balkan countries during the EU accession and thus stimulate economic growth and development, both through investment promotion, as well as the harmonization of regulatory reforms. Improving interconnectivity of the Western Balkans, and with the EU, is a key factor for increasing the competitiveness of the region and the impetus for creating new jobs," Minister Nurković said, noting that the traffic safety is a high priority of the new government.

The Minister expressed special gratitude to the European Commission on a very intensive support and joint work in the past several months aimed at creating conditions for the initiation of the Treaty establishing Transport Community with the Western Balkans region, which Montenegro strongly supports.

European Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc praised the efforts that the Western Balkan countries made in order to improve traffic safety. The Commissioner pointed out that the regional and neighborly cooperation was crucial in the implementation of established reform activities in the field of transport and expected further improvement in the coming year. Citing the key objectives in the coming year, she referred to the importance of improving traffic safety, the integration strategy of railway transport, and in particular highlighted the signing of the future Transport Community Treaty.

European Commissioner for Enlargement and Neighborhood Policy Johannes Hahn referred to the context of the Treaty Establishing the Transport Community, which is expected to be signed at the summit of the heads of government of Western Balkan Six in Rome in 2017. As Hahn said, the signing will provide significant benefits for the entire region, both in the field of transport, and in the process of EU integration. In addition, the Commissioner referred to particular examples of cooperation between the countries of the region and, inter alia, the example of cooperation between Montenegro and Albania in the process of establishing a One Stop Shop for freight traffic at the border crossing Sukobin, as a model that could be used on the entire main network of the Western Balkans.

Meetings of Ministers of Transport have provided to the Montenegrin delegation an additional opportunity to present the transport policy, progress made in the field of transport, as well as priorities in the field of transport.

During his stay in Brussels, Minister Nurković visited the Embassy of Montenegro where he spoke with the Ambassadors Bojan Šarkić and Vladan Radulović about the positioning and integration of Montenegro in the field of transport, as well as about the progress of our country towards membership to the European Union.

Memorandum of Understanding on the Development of the South East Europe Core Regional Transport Network (SEETO Memorandum) was signed in Luxemburg on 11June 2004 by the European Commission and the following Governments: Montenegro, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, and Kosovo. Therefore, Montenegro is a participating country to this Programme and a full member actively engaged in regional cooperation, which is a cornerstone of EU policy towards the countries of the Western Balkans in the field of transport. Further application of this document is enabled through the use of the Protocol IV on inland transport as part of the Stabilization and Association Agreement between the European Communities and their Member States, of the one part, and the Republic of Montenegro, of the other part.

PR Service of the Ministry of Transport and Maritime Affairs